Karate Basic Knowledge

One ! To seek to attain perfection of character !

One ! To live with politeness and discipline !

One ! To honor a code of ethical behavior !

One ! To strive for excellence through effort !

One ! To refrain from impetuous conduct !

Always greet instructors when you see them

Always address the head instructor as SENSEI

Always address the assistant instructors as SEMPAI

Introduce yourself to anyone in the dojo you do not know

Afford guest instructors the same courtesies as your own

If you have a question in school circle, always raise your hand to be acknowledged

When practicing Katas during class, and space is limited, higher ranking students should give way to lower ranking students

Always let your instructor know when you will not be able to attend class or you are injured

Always come to class with the proper equipment

Always come to class with a clean gi and clean feet.

Everyone will indicate that they understand by yelling OSS

No discussion will be allowed during class instruction

Bow when entering or leaving the dojo

Bow before stepping on or off the training area

NO sparring will be allowed without Black Belt supervision

NO jewelry will be worn during training sessions

No one is allowed to use weapons, or training and exercise equipment in the dojo without instructors supervision or permission

Always take off your shoes before entering the dojo.

Commitment is what transforms a promise into reality.

It is the word that speak boldly of our intentions and

the actions which speaks louder than words.

It is making the time when there is none. Coming through

time after time, year after year after year.

Commitment is the stuff character is made of:

the power to change the face of things.

It is the daily triumph of integrity over skepticism

In Shito Ryu,
the katas are divided into two major lines,
Itosu-ke and Higaonna-ke.
Itosu-ke Higaonna-ke
Kihon (1-12) Sanchin
Itosu-ke Higaonna-ke
Pinan (Shodan, Nidan, Sandan, Yondan,Godan) Shinsei
Naihanchin (Shodan, Nidan, Sandan) Kensho
Juroku Tensho
Matsukaze Sochin
Jutte Shisochin
Jion Seienchin
Jiin Happosho
Rohai (Matsumura) Shimpa
Rohai (Shodan, Nidan, Sandan) Saiha
Bassai (Dai, Sho) Kururumpha
Bassai (Matsumura) Seisan
Kosookun (Dai, Sho) Seipai
Shihokosookun Niseishi
Chintei Sanseiru
Chinto Unshu
Wanshu Suparinpei
Kenshu Nipaipo